NYPS School Chess Team Selection 2018

59th National Schools Individual Chess Championships, 4-5 September 2018

A) NYPS PLAYERS SELECTED FOR SCHOOL TEAMS (59TH NATIONAL SCHOOLS INDIVIDUAL CHESS CHAMPIONSHIPS 2018)

BOYS

Jacob Wee (1D)

Liew Tze Hsien (2L)

Rhys Vaswani (3F)

Zachary Chia (3K)

Marcel Neo (3J)

Matthew Quek (3D)

Eden Tey (3J)

Hong Yu Jayden Haw (3B)

Daryl Lim (3A)

Warren Teyu (3G)

Josh Lai (3A)

Victor Wee (3H)

Klaus Yeo (3G)

Aidan Kwek (4K)

Phua Mitch (41)

Ryan Vaswani (4G)

Loh Yang Hao (4L)

Schulyer Tan (4D)

Titus Neo (4B)

Gabriel Wei (5K)

Evan Sung (5i)

Lim Kai Jun (5J)

Justin Liu (5L)

Ng Sheng Feng (6M)

Edward Chua (6G)

Joseph Simonetti (6J)

Timothy Chan (6N)

Clement Low (6M)

Lim Jing Heng (6I)

GIRLS

Gia Liow (1E)

Gelise Ong (1J)

Claire Chen (1J)

Rice Leah (2E)

April Loo (2E)

Giselle Ong (2G)

Alyssa Tan (2L) Aleenta Quek (3I)

Avril Lim (3K)

Vanessa Choy (3J)

Sun Shilian (4L)

Liew Tze Chi (4J)

Tara Gunalan (4H)

Valerie Loo (5G)

Mischa Neo (5B)

Tay Rui Ying (5J)
Shreya Gunalan (5A)
Rice Lauren (5L)
Haw Zi Xuan (6L)
Zou Qixuan (6K)
[Reserve in case of an unavailability: Alyssa Quek (1L)]

All the players listed above are requested to attend the following 3 training sessions:

27 August, Mon: 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm 28 August, Tue: 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm 30 August, Thu: 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm

Reminder: If any of these players is unable to take part in the National School Team event on 4 and 5 September, please notify us immediately via nypschessarchive@gmail.com

B) SELECTION TRIAL SESSION on 23 August 2018 (Class 1D, 2:00 pm to 4:00 pm):

For a few other spots available in two Open teams (Open U-11 and Open), the following players are invited to participate in a playoff tournament on 23 August as part of the selection trials.

Time-control: 10 minutes + 3 seconds increment All-play-all format, FIDE-rapid rules apply.

The top finishers will qualify for the available team spots.

Players invited for this selection trial:

Liew Yu Jie Matthias Kiement (3F) Jorden Yang (3J) Jackson Ting (4E) Tan Andre Zhi Jie (4L) Chen Zi Xuan Tho Tze Weng Adrieyl (4I) Siow Kai Yang Sky (4D) Joshua Wang (5J)